Ideal Parent Figures

While browsing on Reddit, I discovered Dan Brown’s work on attachment theory, and in particular, his method of healing attachment disturbances in adults. You can check out one of his meditations here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z2au4jtL0O4&t=2s

I recognized Dan’s name because I had one of his books on my shelf – Pointing Out the Great Way – a collection of pith instructions from the Kagyu school on the nature of reality. Having spent some time in Kagyu practice and chosen alternate methods for healing, I also discovered that in Dan Brown’s view, attachment work is actually extremely important for some people before they begin serious meditative practice.

As they say, what you don’t know, you don’t know.

Being an explorer and someone who is looking to have a better experience of life, I tried IPF myself and found that it’s quite amazing: there were just some experiences in childhood I never got. My father was abusive and mother was not emotionally supportive. Not the worst of experiences, but it led to me growing up with a “disorganized” attachment style, as well as the probably source of mental health issues.

Fast forward, what I’m finding is that the positive feelings behind these experiences are easily had and “anchorable,” meaning they can be referred to and re-experienced via recall. It seems from here, it is just a practice of repetition until the “old map” of low self-esteem, uncertainty, fear, and so forth is replaced by a positive map of self-esteem, openness, security, and the other aspects of secure functioning.

Leave a comment